Shellac, szelak

Shellac

Shellac is a resin secreted by female Kerria lacca insects living on trees in India and Thailand. It is collected from twigs, purified and dried. As it is of animal origin, products containing shellac are not vegan.

Once dry, it forms a thin, glossy and durable layer. In our biodegradable glitters, it helps set the structure of the cellulose and mica particles, so they reflect light beautifully.

Did you know?: Before vinyl became widespread, gramophone records were made from shellac. It is also used as a shiny glaze on some sweets and tablets.

Functional ingredients

Loading...
News
Back to top